Monday, November 28, 2011

2011 World Cup

2011 Omega Mission Hills World Cup
Mission Hills Haikou, Hainan, China

264 USA (Matt Kuchar/Gary Woodland)

266 Germany (Alex Cejka/Martin Kaymer)
England (Justin Rose/Ian Poulter)

ATP World Tour Final

Barclays ATP World Tour Finals
O2 Arena, London

(4) Roger Federer def (6) Jo-Wilfried Tsonga
6-3, 6-7 (6-8), 6-3

Brazilian GP

Formula 1 Grande Premio Petrobras Do Brasil 2011
Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace, Interlagos, Sao Paulo
Pole Position: Sebastian Vettel

1. Mark Webber - RBR Renault

2. Sebastian Vettel - RBR Renault

3. Jenson Button - McLaren Mercedes

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

WTA Player of The Year

Wimbledon champion Petra Kvitova has been voted WTA's Player of the Year following a season in which she claimed her debut Grand Slam title, steered the Czech Republic to Fed Cup glory and shot up 32 places in the world rankings.

TENNIS The Czech Republic's Petra Kvitova reacts after defeating Russia's Svetlana Kuznetsova in their Fed Cup World Group final tennis match in Moscow November 6, 2011 - 0

The Czech, who ended the year ranked second, picked up four prizes in total on Monday following a remarkable 12 months in which she won six titles and chalked up a 6-0 record in Fed Cup singles.

"This season has been simply a dream," the 21-year-old said after being voted to the top prize ahead of world number one Caroline Wozniacki.

"It is an incredible honour to win the Player of the Year award and join the ranks of some of the best players that have ever played the sport, especially Martina Navratilova.

"I will always cherish the 2011 season and look forward to building on it."

Kvitova also bagged the Most Improved Player award and the fair play prize, while fans voted her the Breakthrough Player of the Year.

Kveta Peschke completed a good day for the Czech Republic when she and Slovenian partner Katarina Srebotnik earned their first award for Doubles Team of the Year.

Sabine Lisicki of Germany scooped the Comeback Player of the Year honour.

The 22-year-old was out of action for five months last year with a horrific ankle injury and by March this year, she had toppled out of the top 200.

However, by the end of the season, she had clawed back into the top 15 thanks to triumphs in Birmingham and Dallas and by charging into the semi-finals at Wimbledon despite entering the tournament with a wildcard.

Monday, November 14, 2011

Paris Masters

2011 Paris Masters
Palais Omnisport de-Pari
s Bercy, Paris

Roger Federer def Joe-Wilfred Tsonga
6-1, 7-6 (7-3)

Abu Dhabi GP

2011 Formula 1 Etihad Airways Abu Dhabi Grand Prix
Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi

Pole Position : Sebastian Vettel

1. Lewis Hamilton - McLaren Mercedes

2. Fernando Alonso - Ferrari

3. Jenson Button - McLaren Mercedes

Monday, November 7, 2011

Valencia GP

Gran Primeo Generali de la Comunitat Valenciana
Circuit Ricardo Tormo, Cheste, Valencia

1. Casey Stoner - Repsol Honda Team

2. Ben Spies - Yamaha Factory Racing

3. Andrea Dovizioso - Repsol Honda Team

Fed Cup 2011

2011 Fed Cup by BNP Paribas
Moscow, Russia

Kveta Peschke/Lucie Hradecka (CZE) def Maria Kirilenko/ Elena Vesnina (RUS)
6-4, 6-2

Anastasia Pacluchenkova (RUS) def. Lucie Safarova (CZE)
6-2, 6-4

Petra Kvitova (RUS) def Svetlana Kutnetsova (CZE)
4-6, 6-2, 6-3

Svetlana Kutnetsova (RUS) def Lucie Safarova (CZE)
6-2, 6-3

Petra Kvitova (CZE) def Maria Kirilenko (RUS)
6-2, 6-2

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

2011 FIFA Ballon d"Or

Shortlist for 2011 FIFA Ballon d'Or

Eric Abidal (France), Sergio Aguero (Argentina), Karim Benzema (France), Iker Casillas (Spain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Dani Alves (Brazil), Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon), Cesc Fabregas (Spain), Diego Forlan (Uruguay), Andres Iniesta (Spain), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Thomas Mueller (Germany),Nani (Portugal), Neymar (Brazil), Mesut Ozil (Germany), Gerard Piqué (Spain), Wayne Rooney (England), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany), Wesley Sneijder (Netherlands), Luis Suárez (Uruguay), David Villa (Spain), Xabi Alonso (Spain), Xavi (Spain).

Shortlist for 2011 FIFA World Coach of the Year

Vicente Del Bosque (Spain/Spain national team), Alex Ferguson (Scotland/Manchester United FC), Rudi Garcia (France/Lille OSC), Pep Guardiola (Spain/FC Barcelona), Juergen Klopp (Germany/Borussia Dortmund), Joachim Loew (Germany/Germany national team), Jose Mourinho (Portugal/Real Madrid C.F.), Oscar Tabarez (Uruguay/Uruguay national team), Andre Villas-Boas (Portugal/FC Porto, Chelsea FC), Arsene Wenger (France/Arsenal FC).